NORTH DAKOTA SEXUAL OFFENSES
Sex Crimes where the Victims are Minors
Statutory Rape / Child Molestation
- 12.1-20-03 Gross Sexual Imposition Any person who engages in a sexual act with any person under 15. (Class AA Felony if defendant more than 5 years older than victim, Class A Felony if defendant 5 or less years older than victim); or, any person engages in sexual contact with a person less than 15 years old. (Class A Felony unless defendant is not more than 5 years older than victim then Class C Felony.)
- 21.1-20-05 Corruption or Solicitation of Minor Any person 18+ who engages in or solicits a sexual act with any person at least 15 but under 18 years old. (Class A Misdo.); or, any person 18+ who solicits a person under 15 to engage in a sexual act; or, person 22+ engages in a sexual act with a person at least 15 but under 18 years old. (Class C Felony).
- 12.1-20-07 Sexual Assault Any person who engages in sexual contact with person 15+ and where defendant is the victims parent or guardian. (Class C Felony); or, any person 22+ who engages in sexual contact with a person at least 15 but under 18 years old. (Class C Felony); or, any person at least 18, but less than 22 who engages in sexual contact with a person at least 15 but under 18. (Class A Misdo.).
- Affirmative Defenses Where charge requires the victim to be under 15, no defense for mistake as to age. Where charge requires that victim be at least 15 but under 18 years old, it is a defense that defendant reasonably believed the victim to be 18+.
Other North Dakota State Statutes
Statutory Rape Limitations
Jodi Arias’ Defense Attorneys’ Motions Denied
Jodi Arias’ defense attorneys filed a motion for a mistrial after a witness and longtime childhood friend of Arias, Patricia Womack, told defense attorneys that she was withdrawing her … Full article »
Wrongfully Charged Victims
Wrongly Accused in Sex / Murder Case
Many innocent persons are wrongly charged victims as a result of police suspecting them of a crime based upon a wrong tip … Full article »
California Hazing Codes
California Hazing Codes
Participating in a hazing crime in California is considered a serious offense. You could be charged with a misdemeanor hazing offense or a felony … Full article »
Now Playing: Imhoff & Associates - Criminal Defense Attorneys
Talk to Us Now
Have a Question?
We can help to answer it